MY GIRL CRUSH ROCKS!

At this rate, I probably should rename my blog as ‘The unauthorised chronicles of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’ (hahaha), seeing as I have become one of those avid fans/followers.

I read a recent short story written by the lady. It was at its simplest, captivating.  Right from the first sentence, you get drawn into the story and by the time it ends, you still want more. It reminded me of why I started reading and always hoped I would write.

Like every true Chimamanda style, it is not void of deeper societal meaning and its fair dose of truth and life realities. I have a lot more to say about this story but since I hope you would read it and I hate spoilers,I wouldn’t  say much.

But I will say this; Chimamanda has said, she couldn’t right children’s books because of her writing style (Trying really hard not to give out spoilers), I totally agree.

Nevertheless, she is a brilliant writer and I can boldly declare; My Girl Crush rocks!

Oh!!! I have copied and pasted the story below (I know a lot of us can’t be bothered with clicking on a hyperlink *winks*) Please do read and share your views. Enjoy! Read more